Payback time: NRM fires, rewards MPs over age limit

- Advertisement -

The ruling party, The National Resistance Movement (NRM) on Tuesday reshuffled its leadership of sectorial committees and dropping all the MPs who opposed last year’s controversial age limit bill.
The NRM lawmakers who supported the removal of age limit have been rewarded with appointments to committee leadership positions.

Government Chief Whip, Ruth Nankabirwa, who is also Chairperson NRM Caucus read the names of new Chairpersons and deputies of Sectoral Committees. In the new changes, Rubanda West MP Denis who opposed and voted against the age limit was dropped as the Chairperson of Physical Infrastructure committee. He was replaced by Robert Ssekitoleko Kafeero, the man who first introduced age limit amendment in August 2016.

- Advertisement -

Amolatar Woman MP Doreen Amule, who was the seconder of the motion that introduced the contentious Bill, is the new chairperson of the Defence and Internal Affairs Committee. She replaces Mityana Woman MP Judith Nabakooba who was often accused by members of the Committee of being soft on witnesses from security agencies.
Dokolo North County MP Paul Amoru, one of the most enthusiastic supporters of the Bill, is the new Vice Chairperson of the Committee on Information and Communication Technology.
Kanungu Woman MP Elizabeth Karungi is the new Vice Chairperson of the Public Service Committee. Other new entrants to committee leadership positions are Kyenjojo Woman MP Spellanza Baguma (Vice Chairperson, Health), Ora County MP Biyika Lawrence (Vice Chairman Natural Resources) and Kigulu North County MP Fred Bwino (Vice, Science and Technology).

Kampala Central MP Mohammed Nsereko was dropped as chairman of the Equal Opportunities Committee. He was replaced by Ms Hellen Asamo (PWDs, Eastern).
Fort Portal Municipality MP Alex Ruhunda, Buvuma Islands MP Migadde Robert, Amuria Woman MP Susan Amero, Kiryandongo Woman MP Hellen Kahunde and Mbale Woman MP Connie Nakayenze are the other MPs who were dropped from committee leadership positions.

They opposed the removal of age limit.
committee Chairpersons take home Ugx. 2.4m per month while their deputies earn 1.8m monthly. Committee leaders also determine which MP goes for trips abroad as legislators are entitled to per diem of Ugx. 2.6m for foreign travels each day.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.