- Advertisement -

On this date (20th February 2017) last year, The Electoral Commission Chairman, Eng. Badru Kiggundu announced President Museveni as the winner of the 2016 presidential elections with 5,617,503 votes, representing 60.7 percentage.

The main opposition party candidate —the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) candidate Dr. Kizza Besigye garnered 3,270,290 votes, representing 35.37 per cent of the total votes cast.

A total of 5,575,461 voters either chose to stay home or were disenfranchised as a result of the delays that marred the elections.

Related: Kiggundu: I sleep so quietly, because I have a sense of accomplishment


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.