- Advertisement -

David Lutalo wins Best male and Artists of the year, as Sheebah Karungi is voted female artists of the year.
Juicy by Mozy Radio and Weasel is song of the year.

By our reporter

Under the theme, The Fans Decide, the organizers of the HiPipo Music awards promised that the 2015 awards were going to be ‘ ‘bigger and better’’ On the contrary, the awards turned out to be highly controversial and if nothing fundamental is done, this could be the end of the only surviving music awards in the country.

- Advertisement -

Many things happened behind the scenes before and during the awards that took place last night Serena Hotel Kampala. Typical of Ugandan things, the awards sponsored by Telecom giant MTN Uganda turned out to be contentious and were snubbed by top musicians in the country; including Dr. Jose Chameleone, Bebe Cool, Bobi Wine, Juliana Kanyomozi , Eddy Kenzo and Irene Ntale.
In the absence of top guns, the revelers were entertained by Nutty Neithan Mozy Radio, Winnie Nwagi, Everyn Lagu and winner of the year David Lutalo. The Manya singer, took home two awards: Musician of the Year and the best male artist of the year.

David Lutalo was battling with BET award winner Keddy Kenzo, Bobi Wine, Bebe Cool And Ziza Bafana to claim top male artist of the year 2015.

Sources close to Bebe Cool told Newz Post that the Music king told the organizers that he would not attend the awards; instead, he would send his Wife Zuena or his elder son Allan Ssali. It is believed, Bebe Cool absence was because he learnt in advance that he neither was the male artist of the year nor was his song voted the best of 2015.

A source close to the awards told News Post that on learning that his was not on the final award list, the Ghetto president Bobi Wine told organizers that he will send his wife Babie or his son Kampala. Only to send a member of his Fire Base clue a one Ashburg Kato.
The other top gun who who picked no award is Dr. Jose Chameleon. His team later described the awards as ‘‘too local’’ They noted that their boss is now focusing on regional and continental awards as opposed to local awards. Perhaps this explains why the Music doctor failed to turn up at Serena Hotel last night.

Irene Ntale, Eddy Kenzo, songbird Juiana Kanyomozi are the other top artists whose efforts were not recognized by Ugandans in the 2015 HiPipo Music awards.

The awards have been highly criticized not only by Ugandans but also by musicians themselves. The artists are saying that the awards tend to favour one of their own- Bebe Cool. A claim the organizers have downplayed. The organizers say, Bebe Cool has a large following the reason he takes home several awards.

Indeed, last Year the Gagamel Boss won six awards. Some musicians including Kadongokamu maestro Mathias Walukaga described the awards as ‘‘too local’’ He warned the organizers not to include his name on their award list.

And the awards

There was shock when Diana Nalubega was announced winner of the Best Afrobeat. The nominees in this category were: Bikoola by Irene Ntale and Radio, Weasel, Kamboyine by Maro, Bwerere by Dr, Jose Chameleone and Translator by Kapalaga.

The Convertible, Peugeot 207 for the fans choice award was won by Igama Benedict. Mr. Igama who sat in the front row and kept moving around during the event. When he was announced winner, he clearly stated that he didn’t know how to drive. That is when he was given a driver only to drive on his own after he came out the Serena hotel main gate. Welcome to Uganda.
The voting was done through SMS and online platforms. However, two categories were purely determined by a panel of judges and this did not require any public voting. These are Life Time Achievement Award and Video Traiblazer Award.

Best Songwriter

Mozy Radio

Best Audio Producer

Dr Fizol

Best Video Producer

Savy Films – Sasha Vybz

Best Hip Hop Song

Kigozi (Iko Hivi) by Navio

Best RnB Song

Linda by Rema and Chris Evans

Best Ragga Dancehall Song

Friendly Match by Ziza Bafana & Zanie Brown

Best Reggae Song

Go Mama by Bebe Cool

Best Religious Song

Saum Kareem by Swahaba Kasumba

Best Band Song

Nkuze by Maureen Nantume

Best Folk/Kadongo Kamu Song

Akalulu by Saava Karim

Best Zouk Song

Memories by A Pass & Lillian Mbabazi

Best Afrobeat Song

Mpulunguse by Diana Nalubega

Best Afro pop Song

Tusasanya by Prof. Big Eye

Best Regional Song

Go On – Pine Avenue 5 All Stars and Barbi Jay (North)

Best DJ

DJ Shiru

East Africa Best Video

Nana by Diamond Platnumz Ft Mr Flavour (Tanzania)

East Africa Super Hit

Nana by Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Most Active Fans Group

Gagamel Phamily

Artist of the Year

David Lutalo

Best Male Artist

David Lutalo

Best Female Artist

Sheebah Karungi

Best Music Group

Radio and Weasel

Best Breakthrough Artist

Winnie Nwagi

Album of the Year

Go Mama by Bebe Cool

Video of the Year

Siri Zari by Sheebah

Song of the Year

Juicy by Radio and Weasel

Winner of Convertible Peugeot 207

Igama Benedict.



- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.