Former African heads fail Mo Ibrahim prize criteria the second year in a row

- Advertisement -

Launched in 2006, the Mo Ibrahim Foundation seeks to reward all former African presidents or heads of government who have left office during the last three calendar years and who were elected democratically and have served their constitutionally mandated term.

However, The Mo Ibrahim Foundation Tuesday said there was no suitable winner of the 2016 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership.

This is the second year in a row that the Foundation has failed to get suitable candidate of the former African heads of State and government.

The winner receive $5 million spread over a decade and a further $200,000 annually for the rest of their lives.
“As I emphasise each year, a very high bar was deliberately set when the Prize was launched in 2006. We recognise and applaud the important contributions that many African leaders have made to change their countries for the better. But the Prize is intended to highlight and celebrate truly exceptional leadership, which is uncommon by its very definition. After careful consideration, the Committee has decided not to award the Prize in 2016,” said Dr Salim Ahmed Salim, the chairman of the independent Prize Committee.

Previous winners
Nelson Mandela was the inaugural honorary laureate in 2007.

President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007).
President Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008),

President Pedro Pires of Cape Verde in 2011
In 2014 President Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.